For best results, click this link for accessible version

Database Library

Ask a Librarian

History - General/Worldwide

See also:
Africa / Middle East Latin America / Caribbean / Iberia South / Southeast Asia
East Asia Russia / Eastern Europe / Central Asia Western Europe

Uncheck All | Check Default Resources

Highlighted Resource

David Rumsey Historical Map Collection

David Rumsey Historical Map Collection

The David Rumsey Historical Map Collection has over 29,000 maps and images. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa are also represented. The collection categories include old and antique atlas, globe, school geography, maritime chart, state, county, city, pocket, wall, children and manuscript maps. The collection contains more than 50 complete rare atlases, including Thomas Jefferys's American Atlas (1776), Guillaume Delisle's Atlas de Geographie (1731) and John Arrowsmith's London Atlas (1844). Multiple maps from different time periods can be viewed side-by-side. Viewers can also create their own collections of maps that hold particular interest by saving groups of images. Complete cataloging data accompany each image, enabling in-depth searches of the collection. A special Geographic Information System (GIS) Browser allows integr ation and interaction of historical maps with current geospatial data and other historical maps.

Subject Assistance

Immediate Assistance

Ask a Librarian (Chat, Phone, Desk)

Subject Specialist(s)

Lisa Saywell

Research Guides

History - General/Worldwide

Primary Libraries

Historical Society (Wisconsin Library & Archives)

Memorial Library


How To Use This Page

Search: Check/uncheck databases to select, and enter topic into search box.

Some databases cannot be searched this way and must be searched independently - click on database title to go to the database.


Create Subject Widget to put this page or parts of this page onto your website.

My Accounts