For best results, click this link for accessible version

Database Library

Ask a Librarian

Communication / Journalism / Rhetoric

Uncheck All | Check Default Resources

Highlighted Resource

Encyclopedia of Communication Theory

Encyclopedia of Communication Theory

Searchable, browsable, and with more than 300 entries, this work provides a comprehensive overview of communication theories based in a variety of disciplines. Current descriptions of theories are available here as well as the background issues and concepts that comprise these theories. Many relevant subsets of communication theory are covered including organizational, feminist, philosophical, linguistic, and media. In addition to alphabetical listings, users may access entries via an index of 17 topical categories. Lists of theorists and a chronology of major themes and developments affecting communication theory--from classical times to the present are included.

Subject Assistance

Immediate Assistance

Ask a Librarian (Chat, Phone, Desk)

Subject Specialist(s)

Susan Barribeau

Research Guides

Communication / Journalism / Rhetoric

Primary Libraries

Memorial Library

Journalism Reading Room


How To Use This Page

Search: Check/uncheck databases to select, and enter topic into search box.

Some databases cannot be searched this way and must be searched independently - click on database title to go to the database.


Create Subject Widget to put this page or parts of this page onto your website.

My Accounts