Databases A-Z
240 databases
A comprehensive, multi-disciplinary database providing access to peer-reviewed journals, as well as to some newspapers and magazines, and other publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
A resource focusing on local and regional business news coverage of large corporations, privately held companies, local start-ups, executive profiles, marketing, finance, and industry news. Contains news and analysis, information on local markets, and other data gathered from major business tabloids, magazines, daily newspapers, wire services, and city, state, and regional business publications including the St. Louis Business Journal. Current material dates from 1994 - present, with retrospective coverage back to 1985.
A premier source of business information for more than 30 years. The database contains content from thousands of journals that help researchers track business conditions, trends, management techniques, corporate strategies, and industry-specific topics worldwide. The database is known for the high quality of its indexing and abstracting, which have set information industry standards. For each article, the abstract may be as long as 150 words, and about 20 elements are indexed, including not only bibliographic information but also subjects companies, people, and geographic areas. Skilled indexers apply descriptors from both a controlled vocabulary of more than 8,000 natural language subject terms and a numeric classification system that categorizes articles by business topics. The indexing gives researchers precise searching and relevant hits. The abstracts make it easy to determine which articles will meet the information seeker's needs. Overall, ABI/INFORM contains information on more than 60,000 companies as well as executive profiles, reports on market conditions, and in-depth case studies of global business trends. More than 350 of the database's sources are English-language titles published outside the U.S.
Indexes and abstracts over 700 trade journals covering avery major industry, including finance, insurance, transportation, construction, etc.
A comprehensive, multi-disciplinary database providing access to peer-reviewed journals, as well as to some newspapers and magazines, and other publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Billions of articles from historical newspapers around the U.S. and the world, including obituaries, birth announcements, sports articles, comics, and more. Historical newspapers can be viewed as full-page images and are fully searchable. Coverage varies by title, with some coverage dating back to the 1700s. This resource is funded by BadgerLink.
A site devoted to primary source material in American history. Information archived is from leading historical periodicals and books, and includes eyewitness accounts of historical events, vivid descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records.
This is the online version of the Mcgraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Science and Technology.It is supplemented by top stories, headlines, and late-breaking science and technology news. This resources also includes a lot of multimedia including: Flash animations, image galleries, podcasts, videos, and more.
Search the journals of the American Chemical Society.
Contains digitized images and sounds of Africa contributed over the years to the African Studies Program of the University of Wisconsin-Madison.
An online encyclopedic work that cover blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.
Part of the Readex America's Historical Newspapers collection, African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 was created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the United States--those of the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress. Beginning with Freedom's Journal (NY), the first African American newspaper published in the United States, the titles in this resource include The Colored Citizen (OH), Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, Virginia Journal and Alexandria Advertiser, Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN) and hundreds of others from every region of the U.S.
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Created in partnership with the Wisconsin Historical Society, the Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress, African American Periodicals chronicles a century and a half of the African American experience.
"Includes primary and secondary resources; research and teaching materials created by University of Wisconsin faculty and staff; and unique or valuable items related to the field.The items were digitized from a variety of formats including books, manuscripts, sound recordings, photographs, maps, and other resources."
Includes journal articles, book chapters, short reports, and reprints.
Full-text database of articles focused on complementary, alternative and integrated approaches to health care. Content comes from academic and professional publications, magazines, consumer newsletters, newspapers, and research reports. This resource is funded by BadgerLink.
The definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700+ journals from 1964 to present.
Provides access to more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states. Newspapers can be viewed as full-page images.
A Complete Career Handbook Thorough and Up-to-Date Descriptions of All Major Jobs—Covering About 90% of the Workforce Well-Written Descriptions Cover: Skills Required, Pay Rates, Growth Projections, Education and Training Needed, Working Conditions, and Advancement Opportunities Based on the latest edition of the Occupational Outlook Handbook by the U.S. Department of Labor Results-Oriented Career.
This respected resource is a biographical dictionary of the significant players in the physical, biological, and related sciences. Each edition includes biographical entries on 120,000+ living scientists, providing birthdate; birthplace; field of specialty; education; honorary degrees; current position; professional and career information; awards; memberships; research information; and addresses for each entrant where available. Volume 8 of the set is a comprehensive index listing scientists by field, and by state under field.
Search a selection of periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals.
Collections of critical reviews of current literature and research in the biomedical, physical and social sciences. Reviews are written by leading scientists and published each year. Coverage: 1932-present
An essential periodical index for the fields of physical anthropology, archaeology, cultural ethnography and linguistics. Offers access to more than 900 journals in the British Museum's Anthropology Library. Contains information from a broad geographical range, emphasizing the Commonwealth and extending to Eastern Europe ethnography and the Americas.
AnthroSource is the premier online resource serving the research, teaching, and professional needs of anthropologists. It includes: the current issues for 15 of the American Anthropological Association's (AAA); an electronic archive of all AAA journals; and seamless access to archival content housed at JSTOR for key AAA publications including American Anthropologist. AnthroSource is an evolving, interactive repository of research and communications tools designed to bring the most credible and relevant of anthropological scholarship together in one place and to support a strong community of scholars, teachers, and students in the field.
Indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. It includes: English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Subjects covered include: Advertising Art, Antiques, Archaeology, Architecture and Architectural History, Art History, Computers in Art, Crafts, Decorative Arts, Fashion Design, Folk Art, Graphic Arts, Industrial Design, Interior Design, Landscape Architecture, Motion Pictures, Museology, Non-Western Art, Painting, Photography, Pottery, Sculpture, Television, Textiles, Video.
A part of Web of Knowledge, this databases provides access to the journal literature in arts and humanities disciplines. It also enables a searcher to locate sources in which a known work by a given author has been cited.
A 5-volume encyclopedia that profiles milestones and movements in the arts, literature, music, and religion from a specific period. An overview of the period and a chronology of major world events begin each volume. Nine chapters follow, covering the major branches of the humanities: architecture and design, dance, fashion, literature, music, philosophy, religion, theater, and visual arts. Chapters begin with a chronology of major events within the discipline followed by articles covering the movements, schools of thought, and masterworks that characterize the discipline during the era and biographical profiles of pioneers, masters, and other prominent figures in the field. Chapters end with significant bibliography of primary documents from the period.
Includes primary and secondary materials relating to the creative arts as broadly defined: visual, literary, musical, and performing. Includes archival as well as published materials from a variety of formats: books, manuscripts, prints, photographs, audio and video, and more.
Searchable database of digital images and associated catalog data, with new image collections added several times a year. ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view, download and organize images.
The American Society for Microbiology's 11 journals cover the spectrum of microbiology, from molecular and cellular biology to biomedical research and technology.
This online version of the Encyclopedia of Associations provides up-to-date information on 160,000+ associations and professional organizations. It covers organizations at the international, national, regional, and local level. In addition, it provides IRS information on over 300,000 nonprofit organizations.
Contains information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles, with repair information starting as far back as 1945 for certain makes. Includes: drawings, step-by-step photos, diagnostics, labor time estimator, & more! Includes Chilton's Total Car Care manuals.
Covers all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life, including: archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. Contains citations to books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. The database is an essential research tool for anthropologists, educators, historians, political scientists, sociologists, psychologists, legal and medical researchers, linguists, theologians, ethnobotanists, and policy makers. Coverage: 16th century - present
The Bibliography of the History of Art is the most comprehensive art bibliography available worldwide, covering European and American visual arts from late antiquity to the present. This database indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealers' catalogs, and articles from over 4,300 periodicals. Broad in scope, the bibliography's citations encompass fine arts-painting, sculpture, drawing, prints, architecture-as well as decorative and applied arts-crafts, graphic arts, and folk and popular art among them. Coverage: 1975-2007
Comprehensive index to current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from every part of the world.
Search 95,000+ biographies, obituaries, and photos of individuals. Includes articles from these sources: Current Biography, the World Author Series, Nobel Prize Winners, World Artists, World Film Directors, American Reformers, and numerous biographical books on musicians and composers from throughout history. The biographies are searchable by name, profession, title, place of origin, gender, race/ethnicity, date of birth, date of death, and keyword.
An expansive index to the world’s life sciences journal literature, with topics ranging from botany to microbiology to pharmacology. Coverage: 1926-present
Provides full-text for about 40 peer-reviewed bioscience research journals published by small societies and non-commercial publishers with a focus on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences.
Provides access to the writings of 100+ leading Black dramatists from around the world. Contains the full text of 1,200+ plays written from the mid-1800s to the present. The plays are accompanied by critical commentary as well as images.
Browse E-books in a variety of subjects including Asian Studies, Biblical Studies, Ancient Near East and Early Christianity, Biology, Classical Studies, European History and Culture, Language and Linguistics, Materials and Surface Sciences, Middle East and Islamic Studies, Religious Studies, Theology and Philosophy and Social Sciences.
A Collection of British and Irish women's diaries and correspondence (1500-1900). It provides access to the personal experiences of 1,000+ women over a 300 year time span.
Provides links to online editions of the 40 American City Business Journals publications including the Business Journal (Milwaukee, Wis.) and the Minneapolis/St. Paul Business Journal, which offer business news, information, and commentary about their respective markets. Content includes local business news, current headlines, job listings and advice. Includes the Book of Lists, the popular business resource containing the names and contact information of hundreds of rank-ordered companies.
Provides access to journals, newspapers, trade magazines, and other literature covering all disciplines of business, including accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, management, real estate, sales, trade, technology, etc. This resource is funded by BadgerLink.
Cabell's Directories help researchers identify publications most likely to accept their manuscripts by providing information on journals published in select fields. Information on the topic areas emphasized by each journal, the type of review process, acceptance rate, and number of internal and external reviewers are included. The Directories also include extensive information on manuscript guidelines for each journal and/or indicates the use of a standard set of publication guidelines (such as MLA or APA style) by a journal. Parkside has access to: the Business Directories (Accounting, Economics & Finance, Management, Marketing). Access Note: After linking to Cabell's home page, click on the "Member Area" button on the upper right.
Reports on various industries. Each report includes: occupations in the industry, training and advancement opportunities, earnings data, expected job prospects, & a description of working conditions.
A finding tool for federal government publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options.
Provides convenient, easy, point-and-click access to several popular Census Bureau databases. CenStats' basic functionality is "search and display". That is, the viewer specifies geographic areas, data sets, commodities, etc. and CenStats finds and displays the specified data. Coverage: 1990-present
The world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals. It also includes references to book chapters, pamphlets, audiovisual materials, software, dissertations, standards of professional practice and nurse practice acts. Subjects covered include biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, behavioral sciences, consumer health, health management, and education. Indexing: 1982-present with full text for 750+ journals.
Combines complete runs of eight newspaper titles (1840-1865), as well as nearly 2,000 pamphlets covering a vast range of Civil War Era research topics.
A multi-label database centered around 50,000+ Classical music recordings. A reference section includes biographies and images of compsers, themed playlists, a glossary of musical terms, and a historical guide. The database includes recordings of music written from the earliest times (eg Gregorian Chant) to the present, including contemporary composers. The selection ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera. A 'Sacred' category for browsing genres such as the Mass, Requiem, Stabat Mater, Magnificat, etc. enables users to distinguish between a composer's sacred and secular works, such as Bach's sacred and secular cantatas. Users can create playlists and purchase downloads of some materials. Educators have options to create tests and further organize material for use in coursework.
AVAILABLE TO PARKSIDE NURSING STUDENTS ONLY VIA THE UWM WEB SITE <a href="http://xerxes.library.wisconsin.edu/uwm/?base=databases&action=database&id=UWI29572">http://xerxes.library.wisconsin.edu/uwm/?base=databases&action=database&id=UWI29572</a> Provides evidence to inform health care practitioners, researchers, administrators, and consumers about the effectiveness of interventions. Topics covered: Clinical trials of medical interventions. Coverage: Current.
Provides access to hundreds of journals in the areas of communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. Major areas of coverage include: communications, mass media, journalism, television, radio, newspaper publishing, speech, broadcasting, communication theory, & advertising.
Communication Abstracts is a comprehensive source of information about communication-related publications on a world-wide scale. Communication Abstracts covers communication-related articles, reports, papers, and books from a variety of publishers, research institutions, and information sources.Coverage includes not only communication literature but also literature in other disciplines that is relevant to communication researchers. Communication Abstracts also covers the international literature in film studies, the role of technology in human communications, risk communication, crisis communication and public opinions.
Provides abstracting and indexing of academic journals, professional publications and other reference sources at the highest scholarly and technical levels of computer science. The database contains 300,000+ records from 500+ periodicals and books, with coverage dating back to the mid 1950s. Focuses on subjects such as artificial intelligence, expert systems, system design, data structures, computer theory, computer systems and architecture, software engineering, human-computer interaction, new technologies, social and professional context, and much more.
The world's most comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information from Congressional Information Services. Includes access to many full-text Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, committee information, information about current members of Congress, and much more.
The single most comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. Provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This resource is funded by BadgerLink.
Biographical information on 120,000+ modern authors searchable by Author Name, Title of Work, Birth/Death Year, Nationality, Subject/Genre, Birth/Death Place.
Includes 35,000+ critical essays on contemporary authors, with biographical info, lists of principal works, criticism, and recommended reading for further study.
Full-text access to global information on women in over 190 countries, bringing together relevant content from mainstream periodicals, "gray" literature, and the alternative press. It includes publications in journals; newsletters; and research reports from non-profit groups, government, and international agencies. Topics include human rights; violence and exploitation; education; workplace; family life; legal status; health; reproductive rights; gender equity; and lesbian concerns, among others. Coverage: 1992-present
A subset of the database Contemporary Women's Issues and provides access to global information on women in over 150 countries. Indexes book reviews, journals, newsletters, magazines, and research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies, and fact sheets. Subjects covered include the following: development, education, family life, gender, health, human rights, legal status, lesbian concerns, pay equity, politics, reproductive rights, sociology, violence and exploitation, and the workplace.
A biographical profile management system that helps institutions easily catalog profiles of faculty's skills, experience and work.
A database of currently available grants, prizes, awards and other funding opportunities for researchers and scholars. In today's tight funding climate, it's simply the best way for faculty, researchers and research administrators to find fellowships, grants and funding for a wide range of purposes, including research, collaboration, travel and equipment and from public and private organizations all over the world.
A database of currently available grants, prizes, awards and other funding opportunities for researchers and scholars. In today's tight funding climate, it's simply the best way for faculty, researchers and research administrators to find fellowships, grants and funding for a wide range of purposes, including research, collaboration, travel and equipment and from public and private organizations all over the world.
A listing of Calls for Papers issued by professional bodies, journal editors and other conference organizers in all disciplines.
COS Scholar Universe provides authoritative information about 2 million scholars and organizations around the world, together with verified affiliation and publication information. It helps researchers and academics connect with colleagues with shared interests while expanding their networks to include previously unknown people working in related fields or in other areas of the world.
COS Scholar Universe provides authoritative information about 2 million scholars and organizations around the world, together with verified affiliation and publication information. It helps researchers and academics connect with colleagues with shared interests while expanding their networks to include previously unknown people working in related fields or in other areas of the world.
Descriptive summaries of demographic, historical, cultural, economic, religious, and political information on countries around the world.
A practical reference guide to the specific operating conditions, commercial laws and business regulations in more than 50 countries. It offers unbiased guidance on critical issues such as obtaining proper permits and registrations, protecting your intellectual property in the Internet age and complying with local tax laws, including e-commerce rules.
The CQ Researcher is a collection of reports covering political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, the economy. The Parkside subscription also includes CQ Global Researcher.
Each issue of CQ Weekly contains an unbiased, objective and comprehensive roundup of virtually all Capitol Hill activity from the previous week.
Contains comprehensive coverage of international journals, books, reports, dissertations and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines.
Profiles for 10,000 companies. Information includes business description, company history, products and services, key employee/biographies, revenue and SWOT analysis and top competitors.
Includes electronic texts and journals, image databases, and information on organizations, museums and research facilities.
Provides critical analyses of significant dramatists and plays. For each play or playwright featured, a full range of critical opinion is presented, along with a biographical sketch, a chronological list of the writer's major works and more. Approximately 90-95% of critical essays are full text. Titles of the plays are searchable.
Covers the early encounters between Native Americans, Africans, Europeans, and Americans on the North American continent. Drawn from over 1,000 published and unpublished items from a variety of primary sources.
This collection contains over 96,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised edition. Topics covered: Any subject written about in England from 1475-1700.
Offers high-quality video programs for Wisconsin's K-12 students and teachers, available right now via streaming or download to your computer. This resource is funded by BadgerLink.
Digital access to two categories of primary and secondary publications: writings about research in ecology and natural resources conducted by University of Wisconsin faculty and staff; and unique or valuable titles in these fields held by the University of Wisconsin Libraries. Also contains digitized images, including photographs and maps that librarians, scholars, and other subject specialists have deemed important to these fields of study.
Indexes more than thirty years of economics literature from around the world. EconLit is a comprehensive index of journal articles, books, book reviews, collective volume articles, working papers and dissertations. Created & maintained by the American Economic Association.
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,200 journals, and includes full text for nearly 500 books and monographs. Topics cover all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. This resource is funded by BadgerLink.
This database includes 66,000 bibliographic records selected from sources in educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. This resource is funded by BadgerLink.
This comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, include almost every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800 (nearly 150,000 titles). Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera.
Covers a wealth of topics on the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control and the environment, the set helps researchers to consider the impact of new scientific knowledge and its potential to harm or benefit present and future generations.
This resource surveys clothing, body adornment, and examines the origins of clothing, the development of fabrics and technologies, and the social meanings of dress. It also presents information on representative costumes from a wide variety of historical eras.
Offers a complete view of the institutions, people, processes, roles and philosophies found in educational practice in the United States and throughout the world. Features include 121 biographies of influential educators; profiles of historic colleges and universities; profiles of organizations active in the field; and an appendix of full text primary source documents including education related legislation, international treaties and testing methods.
Considers both the professional ethics of science and technology, and the ethical and political issues raised by science and technology in an increasingly complex and global society. This broad coverage supports the numerous courses in applied and professional ethics and policy related to the practice of science and technology in education.
This encyclopedia features around 250 essays on the varied experiences of social movement media over the planet in the 20th and 21st centuries.Thematic essays address selected issues such as human rights media, indigenous peoples' media, and environmentalist media, and on key concepts widely used in the field such as alternative media, citizens' media, and community media. The Encyclopedia engages with all communication media: broadcasting, print, cinema, the Internet, popular song, street theatre, graffiti and dance. The entries are designed to be relatively brief with clear, accessible and current information.
Covers the modern history of the Middle East and North Africa, with major sections on Colonialism and Imperialism, the World Wars, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and the United Nations' involvement in the region. Each country in the region is reviewed, detailing its population, economy, and government.
Manage citations and quickly build bibliographies with EndNote Web. It is a browser-based software with no installation required, freely available to UW-P users through the Library's Web of Knowledge subscription.
Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
ERIC, the Education Resources Information Center, is an online digital library of education research and information. It includes annotated bibliographic records (citations, abstracts, and other pertinent data) for more than 1.3 million items indexed since 1966. This resource is funded by BadgerLink.
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC), sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, produces the world’s premier database of journal and non-journal education literature. The new ERIC online system provides a centralized ERIC Web site for searching the ERIC bibliographic database of more than 1.1 million citations going back to 1966. More than 107,000 full-text non-journal documents (issued 1993-2004), previously available through fee-based services only, will be available free of charge.
Features newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. While the content may mirror mainstream media coverage, the viewpoints are decidedly unique. Coverage: 1990-present
Coverage of medieval Church prelates, information on all 1300 medieval bishoprics, archdioceses, and patriarchates, and religious orders under obedience to Rome.
A valuable index for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
FEDSTATS provides easy access to the full range of statistics and information produced by more than 70 agencies in the United States Federal Government.
Includes coverage of film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Films on Demand provides online access to over 6,000 streaming educational videos and video clips across a wide range of academic disciplines. Faculty can create playlists, link to individual videos, and embed videos in course pages or web sites.
Current listing of Wisconsin foundations. Ask for username and password at the Reference Desk.
Provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas. This resource is funded by BadgerLink.
Covers all major health professions, including nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, respiratory therapy, medical lab technology, emergency medical technology, dental assistance, pharmacology and nutrition. In addition, the set features approximately 400 photographs and illustrations; appendices of related organizations, agencies and associations; and a general index.
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Comprises essays written by expert contributors, as well as images and audio examples covering music of all the world's peoples.
GenderWatch enhances gender and women's studies, and gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) research by providing authoritative perspectives from 1970 to present. Articles come from an array of academic, radical, community and independent presses.
In the late 1800's, Dutch physician Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen began collecting books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. The Gerritsen Collection has since become the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world.
Includes primary documents and scholarly commentary. In addition to an extensive selection of key treatises, The Gilded Age offers a wealth of rare materials, including songs, letters, photographs, cartoons, government documents, and ephemera.
A collection of images intended to support courses that address issues of global identity, culture and community, and cross-cultural interface through the study of design of living environments (including landscape; exteriors and interiors; furniture; household objects; textiles, and decorative, personal and ritual objects). They offer an intimate, human-based, cultural approach to globalization issues.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
GPO contains bibliographic citations to United States federal government publications from 1976 to the present. Based on the Monthly Catalog of US Government Publications, GPO contains references to books, reports, studies, serials, maps, and other publications. Topics covered include finance, business, demographics, agriculture, medicine, public health, and more. The database contains over 400,000 fully indexed bibliographic records.
Use GPO Access to search official information from all three branches of the Federal Government.
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment: global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. This resource is funded by BadgerLink.
Provides consumer information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. This resource funded by BadgerLink.
Indexes scholarly journals in many medical disciplines. Includes a significant amount of full text. Coverage: 1975-present
HeritageQuest Online is the marriage of ProQuest's Genealogy & Local History Online, a collection of over 25,000 family and local histories, and content from HeritageQuest, the largest genealogical data, products, supplies and equipment provider to consumers and institutions in the United States. This resource funded by BadgerLink.
Historical Abstracts is a complete reference guide to the history of the world (excluding the United States & Canada) from 1450 to the present. For US & Canadia history, go to America History and Life.
This collection includes published materials as well as archival documents. The items were digitized from a variety of formats including books, manuscripts, sound recordings, photographs, maps, and other resources.
The database features cover-to-cover full text for more than 650 historical encyclopedias and other non-fiction books, including award winning titles from many top publishers. This resource funded by BadgerLink.
Features profiles of more than 40,000 companies, 600 industries, and 225,000 key executives, Hoover's Company Records provides easy access to the most thorough and up-to-date business information available. This comprehensive database gives users the whole picture, including:company overview, company history, officers and board members, competitors, products and operations, auditors, rankings, historical financials, & more.
Provides access to thousands of journals, books and other published sources from around the world covering a broad range of humanities topics. It includes all data from Humanities International Index. This resource funded by BadgerLink.
An online delivery system providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
An in-depth index of close to 4,000 collections of personal narratives in English from around the world. It contains approximately 20,500 months of diary entries, 63,000 letter entries, and 17,000 oral history entries.
A for-profit document-delivery service, but use of the index is free. As a result, it provides citations and abstracts from a comprehensive collection of academic and professional research articles - more than 20 million articles from 30,000+ publications covering the sciences, engineering and computing, social sciences, education, business, arts & humanities.
Includes 60,000+ journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries.
Access limited to 3 users at a time. The International Encyclopaedia for the Middle Ages-Online (IEMA), an entirely new supplement to the Lexikon des Mittelalters (LexMA). The chronological range of IEMA is 300-1500 CE, and it will cover all of Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East. IEMA will complement and fill in gaps in the coverage of the present Lexikon des Mittelalters (LexMA).
Access limited to 3 users at a time. An interdisciplinary bibliography of the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500. Subject areas include: Classics, English Language and Literature, History and Archaeology, Theology and Philosophy, Medieval European Languages and Literatures, Arabic and Islamic Studies, History of Education, Art History, Music, Theatre and Performance Arts, Rhetoric and Communication Studies.
The official database for Broadway theatre information and provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today.
Search electronic journals from the Institute of Physics.
A multidisiplinary and fulltext archive of scholarly journals that spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. The majority of journals in the archive have moving walls of between 3 and 5 years, which means that the most current issues from the past 3-5 years are not available online.
A set of UW-system educational resources for K-12th grade teachers, parents, and students.
An online library of Kenosha News articles dating back to October 1989. Ask for username and password at the Reference Desk. Then, click on "Archives Login" on the top right corner.Ask for username and password at Reference Desk.
Provides patrons from elementary students to adult learners, with instant access to the most comprehensive collection of test-preparation tools, skill-building materials, and career resources available. Over 900 online practice tests, interactive skill-building tutorials, and e-book titles are available. Registration is required to use this resource. Please stop at the Reference Desk for more information. This resource funded by BadgerLink.
The Lexi-PALS Drug Guide is a database of Patient Advisory Leaflets from Lexi-Comp that provides vital education on medications for patients. This resource funded by BadgerLink.
The standard encyclopaedia for medieval studies. It deals with all branches of Medieval Studies and covers the period from 300 to 1500 AD/CE for the whole of Europe and parts of the Middle East and North Africa#It includes 36,700 signed articles by 3000 authors, providing unrivalled coverage of the European Middle Ages from the world's leading encyclopaedia (published 1977-1999).
Full text coverage from a variety of news sources, including: international newpapers, newsletters, magazines, trade journals, wire services, broadcast transcripts (AP, New York Times, CNN), business directories, SEC documents, corporate profiles, statutes, federal and state case law, law reviews and state legal materials. Coverage: 1980-present
Covers gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender issues. Topics include civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, psychology, religion, sociology and more. Covers traditional academic, lifestyle and regional publications. Includes the full text of significant GLBT journals, magazines and newspapers as well as some books. Full-text journals include The Advocate, Gay Parent Magazine, Girlfriends, GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian & Gay Studies, James White Review, ISNA News, Ladder, Lesbian Tide, New York Blade, ONE, Tangents, Washington Blade, and many more.
Indexes periodicals, books, research reports, and proceedings on all aspects of librarianship and information science. Coverage: mid-1960s-present
A comprehensive literary reference database that provides full-text information from books, monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, and hundreds of literary journals. This resource funded by BadgerLink.
Provides online access to many titles in the Gale literature series: Contemporary literary criticism, Twentieth-century literary criticism, Nineteenth-century literature criticism, Shakespearean criticism, Literature criticism from 1400 to 1800, Classical and medieval literature criticism, Poetry criticism, Short story criticism, Drama criticism, Children's literature review.
Contains a wealth of literary works including over 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. For students or patrons seeking a deeper view into literature, LitFinder also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more. This resource funded by BadgerLink.
This database, designed specifically for high school libraries, contains full text articles for many popular magazines, pamphlets, and reference books. It also includes biographies, primary source documents, and images. This resource funded by BadgerLink.
This database, designed specifically for public libraries, provides full text for many general reference publications. It also contains general interest information from reference books, primary source documents, and images. Coverage: 1975-present. This resource funded by BadgerLink.
MathSciNet is a comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature of the past 61 years. It provides Web access to reviews and bibliographic data from Mathematical Review and Current Mathematical Publications. It provides links to original articles and free access to Featured Reviews.
MD Consult is a comprehensive clinical information resource. It includes more than 40 leading medical books, full-text articles from over 70 journals, over 1,000 peer-reviewed clinical practice guidelines, more than 5,000 customizable patient education handouts, as well as drug information and Category 1 CME modules.
Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE with Full Text is the premier database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the pre-clinical sciences.
Provides users with a comprehensive guide to 2,000+ contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. All MMY entries contain descriptive information (e.g., test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited review(s) written by leading content area experts.
A bibliographic index of research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. Subject coverage includes: political affairs & law, international relations, economic affairs - business & industry, cultural heritage, arts & humanities, society & social welfare, ethnic diversity & anthropology, significant religious events & movements and recent history (1900 - present) & archaeology. MECAS includes the following: Middle East Bibliography (1946 - 2001), Middle East Book Bibliographies, Theses & Dissertations, MECAS Citations Database and School of Oriental & African Studies (SOAS) Library Catalogue (1900 - present).
This database, designed specifically for middle school libraries, contains full text for many popular, middle school magazines. It also includes numerous biographies, historical essays, reference sources, pamphlets, and an extensive image collection. This resource funded by BadgerLink.
Provides full text from 320+ military and general interest publications. Designed to bring current news to all branches of the military and matters relating to the military and military life. Also indexes and abstracts over 360 magazines, including Military Review, Parameters, Army Times, and Defense.
Includes Americana Sheet Music Collection, Cuca Records Database, Paramount Records Discography, Popular Sheet Music Collection, Wisconsin Folksong Collection, 1937-1946, Wisconsin Sheet Music Database.
The MLA Directory of Periodicals offers detailed information on over 7,100 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in the International Bibliography. The detailed entries include editorial contact information, as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines. The entries list editorial addresses, phone numbers, fax numbers, e-mail addresses, frequency of publication, descriptions of the periodicals' scopes, circulation figures, subscription prices and addresses, advertising information, and submission guidelines. The directory also provides statistics on how many articles and book reviews the periodicals publish each year, as well as how many are submitted.
Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Mosby's Nursing Consult is designed for the clinical nurse, nurse administrators, nursing faculty and students. It contains drug information, patient handouts, full text of some nursing and medical journals (back to 2001), health reference books, nursing news, evidence-based content, clinical updates and more.
Nature Publishing Group (NPG) is the scientific publishing arm of Macmillan Publishers Ltd, combining the excellence of Nature, Nature Research Journals, Nature Reviews Journals, NPG Academic Journals and NPG Reference publications, to provide the world's premier information resource for the basic biological and physical sciences.
An on-line library of more than 75,000 tracks of music from the catalog of Naxos, a leading classical music label, and selected additional labels. Although Naxos is best known for its classical recordings, the Naxos Music Library also includes world music, jazz, and national anthems. All of the Naxos repertoire may be searched in standard/advanced modes or browsed in a large number of categories and genres. In addition, Naxos offers a number of text resources including overviews of music history, program notes for recordings, and the complete libretti of operas available in the Naxos Music Library.
Offers thousands of tracks of jazz from over 2,300 albums. Hundreds of jazz artists are represented. Naxos Music Library Jazz comprises Naxos Jazz and the 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz. Naxos Jazz, along with Prophone and Proprius, brings you the world of international Jazz, covering Sweden and Scandinavian jazz artist.
Edited by Carolina Armenteros and Richard A. Lebrun. The essays contained within this volume were first presented at appraisals/Reconsidérations, the Fifth International Colloquium on Joseph de Maistre, held at Jesus College, Cambridge on 4 and 5 December 2008.
The New York Times offers full page and article images with searchable full text from 1851-2007.
Includes the full text of hundreds of U.S. and international newspapers, as well as television and radio news transcripts. This resource funded by BadgerLink.
Provides a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada. Includes letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories. Also included are several thousand pages of Ellis Island Oral History interviews.
A digitized collection of women`s diaries, biographies, and correspondence. Spanning more than 300 years, it brings the personal experiences of 1,500 women to researchers, students, and general readers.Sources include: journals, pamphlets, newsletters, books, and conference proceedings.
Fiction readers can find the perfect novel with this reader's advisory service.
Provides critical overviews of novels including: Alas, Babylon; The Alchemist; Anthem; Bless the Beasts and Children; Bread Givers; A Day No Pigs Would Die; Einstein's Dreams; Eva Luna; I, Robot; The Magic Mountain; Mansfield Park; Something Wicked This Way Comes; Utopia; and Year of Impossible Goodbyes.
The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. The Handbook is revised every two years.
Contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) Coverage: 1998 - present.
Delivers company and industry information and analysis on hundreds of industries and thousands of public and private companies. Includes: news stories, corporate overviews, financial data, research reports, executive biographies, and more -- from top of category data providers, into a single source.
Traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.
Contains entries on all aspects of music, including composers, conductors, performers, directors, critics, producers and designers, individual works, orchestras and companies from around the world, famous musical venues, musical terms, styles and forms, instruments and more.
The papers and reports in Parenthood in America represent the proceedings of a national conference held in Madison, Wisconsin in April, 1998.
A database with abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews. Coverage: 1940-present
Provides abstracts to physical education curricula from a variety of sources including: peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, trade magazines, patents, articles from the popular press, and many other publications. Major subject areas include biomechanics-kinesiology, coaching, curriculum, dance, health, law, measurement evaluation, motor learning, perception, physical education, physical fitness, physical therapy, recreation, sport psychology, sport sociology, sports medicine, teaching methods, and training. Coverage: 1970-present
Provides substantial critical essays and biographical information on major poets from all eras. Entries provide an introductory biographical sketch, an author portrait, a primary bibliography, annotated full text and excerpted criticism of the poets' works and sources for additional reading. When available, comments from the poets themselves are included.
A series of essays on controversial topics that present multiple sides of a current issue. The articles provide questions and materials for further thought and study and are accompanied by supporting references from political and societal publications.
Indexes a variety of sources including: scholarly jouranals, reference books and monographs. Conference papers are also indexed, including those of the International Political Science Association.
Polling the Nation is an online database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 350,000 questions and responses from 14,000 surveys conducted from 1986 through the present in the U.S. and 80 other countries.
Contains full text for more than 50 popular, elementary school magazines. It also includes numerous student pamphlets and reference sources, and an extensive image collection. This resource funded by BadgerLink.
Includes scientific literature on nonhuman primates from all types of publications like articles, books, abstracts, technical reports, dissertations, book chapters, etc. Subject areas include: behavior, colony management, ecology, reproduction, field studies, disease models, veterinary science, psychology, physiology, pharmacology, evolution, taxonomy, developmental and molecular biology, genetics and zoogeography. Coverage: 1940-present)
Provides a highly specialized collection of electronic information especially for professional educators. It offers information on everything from children's health and development to cutting-edge pedagogical theory and practice. This resource funded by BadgerLink.
Full-text electronic access to 100+ journals, many published by Johns Hopkins University Press. Topics covered: literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies. Coverage: 1995-present
Contains peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology published by the American Psychological Association and from allied organizations.
Provides access to scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in behavioral science and mental health from around the world. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas.
Includes images of 19th century book bindings. Expands awareness of the book as artifact and of the role decorative bindings play in providing a window into historical, cultural, and industrial period of 1815-1930.
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to 1948. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.
In-depth chemical substance and reaction data particularly useful for compound synthesis. Reaxys includes three core chemistry information databases: Beilstein (Organic Chemistry from 1700's), Gmelin (Inorganic Chemistry from 1800's), and Patent Chemistry Database (1975-present), and Selected Organic Chemistry Patents (1869-1980).
Only works with IE. ReferenceUSA is a detailed database of more than 12 million businesses and 120 million consumer households in the U.S. and Canada contains a wealth of information useful for company profiling, market research, sales planning, and lead generation. Used by job seekers, job changers, small business owners, and market researchers, ReferenceUSA is both comprehensive and user friendly.
Fulltext coverage of regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This resource funded by BadgerLink.
A comprehensive music bibliography with abstracts for books, conference proceedings, journal articles, dissertations, internet resources, sound recordings and motion pictures. It provides access to information on traditional music, popular music, classical music, musicology, ethnomusicology, pedagogy, psychology, anthropology, sociology and more.
SAGE Journals Online provides online access to 550+ SAGE journals in the fields of business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine.
The Science Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the sciences. It enables the searcher to locate sources in which a known work by a given author has been cited. Coverage: 1971-present
The Science Collection brings together, in digital form, two categories of primary and secondary resources: research and teaching materials created by University of Wisconsin faculty and staff; and unique or valuable items related to these fields held by the University of Wisconsin Libraries. It includes a wide range of materials in a variety of formats including electronic facsimiles of books, manuscripts, important serial titles, and digitized images.
A comprehensive research that provides access to science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, & more. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. This resource funded by BadgerLink.
This is an expanded online version of Chemical Abstracts. As such, it is research discovery tool that allows users to access a wide diversity of research from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more.
Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period (SWRP) contains 60 volumes of Romantic Poetry, plus critical reviews and background information on the poems.
The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It enables the searcher to locate sources in which a known work by a given author has been cited. Coverage: 1971-present
SocINDEX with Full Text contains citations and full text coverage of journal articles, books, conference papers, etc. in sociology and related topics. Offers coverage from all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and more.
Provides downloadable MP3 audio files of music and sound effects that are copyright compliant, content safe and royalty free for use in student projects and other school production such as podcasts, videos, digital storytelling or any type of multimedia production. This resource funded by BadgerLink.
This is the most comprehensive, bibliographic database covering sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, facility design & management, intramural & school sport, doping, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, occupational health & therapy, public health and more. Coverage: 1985-present
SBRnet's mission is to provide a continuously updated resource featuring market research and industry news covering all facets of the sports industry, including sports equipment sales, sports participation, sports broadcasting, sports sponsorship, and sports marketing.
Over 49,000 eBooks in the following subject areas: Behavioral Sciences, Biomedical & Life Sciences, Business & Economics, Chemistry & Material Science, Computer Science, Earth & Environmental Science, Engineering, Humanities, Social Science & Law, Mathematics & Statistics, Medicine, Physics & Astronomy, Professional and Applied Computing
STAT-USA pulled together information from many different sources, some of which are available from other government websites (e.g. Bureau of Economic Analysis, Bureau of Labor Statistics, and Federal Reserve)
This collection brings together, in digital form, two categories of primary and secondary materials: writings about the State of Wisconsin and unique or valuable materials that relate to its history and ongoing development.
Provides easy access to statistics produced by the U.S. government, major international intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state government agencies, and universities.
Indexes the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books and provides coverage of key education topics like assessment, continuing education, current pedagogical research, curriculum development, instructional media, language arts, literacy standards, science & mathematics, etc.
TeachingBooks.net provides access to original, in-studio movies of authors and illustrators, audio excerpts of professional book readings, guides to thousands of titles and a wealth of multimedia resources on children's and young adult literature. This resource funded by BadgerLink.
Hundreds of eyewitness accounts, pictures, and museum objects, new ones added daily. Dozens of essays, educational activities, and reference tools.
Provides a window into American social history by bringing together the instructional, prescriptive, behavioral, and etiquette literature that defined standards of personal conduct for America in the twentieth century. The collection contains nearly 100,000 pages of fully searchable handbooks, manuals, textbooks, etiquette guides, self-help books, instructional pamphlets, and how-to books.
This highly useful series presents substantial excerpts from the best criticism on the major literary figures and nonfiction writers of 1900 to 1999.
Since its foundation in early 2000, the UWDCC has worked collaboratively with UW System faculty, staff, and librarians to create and provide access to digital resources that support the teaching and research needs of the UW community, uniquely document the university and State of Wisconsin, and provide access to rare or fragile items of broad research value. The UWDCC has also partnered with cultural heritage institutions and public libraries throughout Wisconsin to create digital resources.
Search for books, ebooks, journals, movies, music, scores, etc. located at the Parkside Library.
UW System Borrowing allows faculty, staff and students from any UW campus to request items directly from any UW System library. Items will be available for pick up at your selected library in two to four business days.
Acomprehensive source of information and advice on approximately 1,700 stocks, more than 90 industries, the stock market, and the economy. It has three parts: The Ratings & Reports section contains one-page reports showing Value Line's Timeliness, Safety, and Technical ranks, financial and stock price forecasts for the coming 3 to 5 years, an analyst's written commentary, and more. The Summary & Index contains an index of all stocks in the publication as well as many up-to-date statistics. It also contains a variety of stock "screens" designed to help investors identify companies with various characteristics. The Selection & Opinion section contains Value Line's latest economic and stock market forecasts, one-page write-ups about interesting and attractive stocks, model portfolios, and financial and stock market statistics.
Supplements The Value Line Investment Survey and is geared toward individual investors and designed to enhance their standard Investment Survey. This is a weekly publication that features consensus earning estimates, business descriptions, and Performance Ranks, designed to predict relative price performance over the next six to 12 months. The publication does not include analysts' commentaries.
Provides proprietary ranks on over 7,000 mutual funds, full reports including analyst commentaries for an additional 1,500 leading equity funds, and profile summary reports on over 10,000 mutual funds. Additionally, you can screen the Value Line database to find specific funds that meet your investment objectives.
Updated weekly. Provides online access to Value Line's leading publications covering stocks, mutual funds, options and convertible securities as well as special situation stocks. Coverage: 1997-present
The Wall Street Journal (1889-1989) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
The Washington Post offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
The Washington Post offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
A database maintained by the University of Wisconsin System Women's Studies Librarian's Office that lists documentary, experimental, and feature film and video productions by and about women.
Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Coverage: 1971-present
A comprehensive collection of news, business, and law related information. The resource includes the full text of newspapers, magazines, and legal content, including legal cases, and the Federal Register. Please note that many functions of Westlaw will only function properly if you disable any pop-up blocker. For example, printing may not work if a pop-up blocker is active.
Provides full text access to reference works and books published by Wiley in all the science disciplines.
Provides access to thousands of historical newspaper articles on Wisconsin people and communities.
Wisconsin Newspapers Digital Research Site is a service of the Wisconsin Newspaper Association. It provides access to the daily and weekly newspapers in Wisconsin (2005-present), with an embargo delay of 60 days. This resource funded by BadgerLink.
A digital collection of diaries, letters, reminiscences, speeches and other writings of people who settled and built Wisconsin during the 19th century.
The field notes and plat maps of the public land survey of Wisconsin are a valuable resource for original land survey information, as well as for understanding Wisconsin's landscape history. The survey of Wisconsin was conducted between 1832 and 1866 by the federal General Land Office. This work established the township, range and section grid; the pattern upon which land ownership and land use is based.
Documents the multiplicity of women's activism in public life and examines perspectives on women’s social movements from colonial times to the present. It includes books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies.
Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. This database supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented. Coverage: 1972-present
A project of the Association of College & Research Libraries -- Women’s Studies Section. Book titles currently in print are selected by academic librarians who volunteer to maintain a subject area. The project assists Women's Studies librarians and collection development librarians in building Women's Studies collections and can also serve as a guide to instructional faculty in selecting available course readings.
WorldCat is a global catalog of library collections and is the largest and most comprehensive database of its kind. WorldCat is useful for locating books, periodicals, archival materials, and multimedia in libraries worldwide.
Derived from corporate annual and 10K reports, disclosure statements, newspapers and wire services. Each record includes a description of the business, selected financials, key ratios and officers.
Supplies up-to-date bibliographic information and research within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. The database covers over 1000 journals drawn from the international serials literature. Currently, the majority of the records come from the Political Science Abstracts database.